Things That Don't Suck
'Things That Don't Suck' by Andrea Gibson
How To Stop Crying
48
Preview
0:00
-1:06

How To Stop Crying

Have you ever googled this?
48

Hi Everyone,

I’m just getting over a bad cold. One night, around 2am when I couldn’t stop hacking, I Googled “how to stop coughing” and it autofilled to“how to stop crying.” The fact that millions of people search “how to stop crying” every day makes me want to wrap my arms around the whole world. Makes me feel relentlessly tender about what it is to be a human being.

Can you imagine how different our society would be if we interacted with everyone we encountered with the assumption that their most recent online search was how to stop the flood of their own tears? How it would soften our voices. How much more natural it would feel to prioritize kindness. How we would lean more instinctively in the direction of knowing, really knowing, we are in this life together.

This post is for paid subscribers

Things That Don't Suck
'Things That Don't Suck' by Andrea Gibson
A quest to uncover what shifts, when we shift our attention
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Andrea Gibson